top of page

Blog Comments

Naughty or Nice?

Natalie Morgan

I admit to being a pessimist when it comes to the human race. I have always believed that humans are inherently bad. Reading your post, I do agree that society has shaped our ideas of what is good and what is bad. Because of this, those who are raised in an environment with lesser morals will be more prone to bad behaviors and vice versa for an environment with stronger morals. I have often pondered the question of whether those who do good are good? Let me further explain. I believe that not all those who do good necessarily do it for the right reasons. Like you said, there are things that are considered socially acceptable and those that are not. Could the motive behind individuals pure and good acts really not be so pure after all? Could these people present as good human beings because they care about how their fellow peers and society views them? This raises my final question, a question I do not know my stance on: does it matter what the motive is behind doing good as long as the good is done?

What it Means to Believe in Destiny

Natalie Morgan

Reading your post, I felt inclined to comment because religion and destiny are two things I often ponder. I myself am not religious, or rather I categorize myself as agnostic. This does not mean I believe religion is preposterous, but instead I personally do not wish to spend my life devoted to a being I am not sure exists. As for destiny, I do not believe that each person is born with a set path and an assigned life that they are to follow. I believe each person is born and from there takes over the course of their life. Free will, in terms of the freedom to choose one’s course, I believe exists. The decisions human beings make and the way their lives turn out are a direct result of the conscious choices made day by day. Let’s say for argument sake that a person has a destiny, a life they are meant to live, then this would mean that the actions of other people in their life would have to be predetermined to ensure this path. We are a result of our experiences and the people that have impacted us. This would mean then, that if each person has a destiny, all destinies are intertwined. The concept of destiny is a hard point to argue, because no one can truly know if they were born with a certain life they were meant to live. Therefore the argument merely goes in circles with no truth ever being discovered.

No Dissemination Without Representation

Natalie Morgan

The issue of racism in our country came to mind when reading your post. The demographics in media are but a small part of a far greater issue. Your example of the media reflects a large issue in our society that many deny the existence of. Yes racism is alive, whether people want to believe it or not? Needless to say, most individuals saying this are those too naïve to realize that just because it has gotten better for minorities does not mean that we should stop there. In this day and age, especially after the election of the beloved Donald Trump, people are more openly expressing their racist beliefs. During the election, the term “closet Trump voters” emerged early on. Many believed the number of Trump supporters was far greater than the news had portrayed. I believe that many of these closet voters were those who did not wish to express their support for a racist, homophobic, narcissistic presidential candidate. But, as soon as he was elected, these individuals revealed themselves and cheered for the changes they would soon see in our country. Racism is alive and it is revealing itself with the election of a president that will give these people what they want: a country that follows a racial hierarchy.

Two weeks of feet to the pavement and protestors gain national momentum

Haley Videckis

Your focus on mass media’s influence in today’s society emphasized the power the media has over individuals. Whether good or bad, the people listen. In this case, the media served as an outlet for people. At a time of such desperation and fear, people need their voices to be heard and to know that their voice matters. People often find their voice when a public figure speaks out on the issue. Celebrities were a source of fuel that ignited nationwide protests against the horrific acts of our beloved President, Donald Trump. I do agree with you that the mass media has and will continue to have an essential role in this presidential term. The media and celebrity figures will continue to ignite the fire and speak for the people. Angela Davis stuck out to me in your post. The section of her speech included in the post is very moving and brutally honest about the real essence of America. We are “a country anchored in slavery and colonialism, which means for better or for worse the very history of the United States is a history of immigration and enslavement.” With this in mind, has America or will America ever be the land of the free?

Is it as easy as 1.2.3. ?

Amanda Feiwell

Sheryl Sandberg’s solution to boost the influence of females in the workforce touches on an important notion. Women need to demand the respect they wish to gain in the workforce. Unfortunately, we live in an age where sex-role stereotypes still hold merit in our society. The traditional roles of men in the workforce and females in the home are still commonly held beliefs. Because of the disparities between men and women, it is more difficult for females to establish a name in the workforce. More than that, it is even a challenge to receive equal pay and respect. In order to change the unjust nature of the workforce, women need to fight for their rights. Sandberg’s proposal is centered on the fact that the best way for women to gain respect in the workforce is to demand it. In our society, it is a battle for equal rights. I agree with her standpoint on the issue and also believe that unfortunately we live in a society where we have to fight for our rights and they will not just be handed to us like they are to specific groups of people. Women can gain the respect they deserve, but it is a hell of a fight to get there.

Please Vote

Jenny (Seung Won) Ha

Your three points in response to “ He doesn’t like politics” are three important arguments. The right to vote is something people too often take for granted. I agree it is our right, our civic duty, to vote in the elections. I have encountered many people, particularly during the most recent election, who said they were not going to vote. I would start by asking why and most would respond with “I don’t like either candidate” or “it doesn’t matter if I vote” or “I don’t know I don’t really care.” All of these responses are needless to say absolutely ridiculous. Our generation has done a disservice to the country. As the youngest generation of voters, we had a significant influence in the most recent election. I cannot help but think how this election could have turned out differently. If our generation had spoken its mind and filled out a ballot, would the election turned out the way it did? Would we have Donald Trump as our 45th president?

Why Can’t Celebrities Be Political?

Jenny (Seung Won) Ha

Something I have learned growing up is a lot of people do not want to discuss politics. I have always been open to discussions, as long as they are discussions and not arguments. I think the issue people run into is discussing politics with people who are looking to argue instead of being open to the opposing sides’ beliefs. With people attacking the opinions of others, most do not want to vocalize their own beliefs. In the case of celebrities, it makes sense why from a publicity standpoint, they may not want to share their political views with the public. Many celebrities have been scrutinized for their political views. I believe we have to change the way everyone speaks about politics. We have to create a less hostile and more understanding environment so that people are more willing to present their beliefs. Once we have reshaped the way everyone talks about politics, then our society will be more accepting of people’s views and celebrities will be more forthcoming with their stances on political issues.

Travel Ban: Revised

Hamdah Salhut

Donald Trump’s travel ban was in no way shocking to me. I have very little faith in our new president elect and his morals. When the travel ban was announced, it was particularly disheartening to many. For me, it was a representation of what America is now heading away from. We will no longer be the melting pot we have always prided ourselves on being. With the exclusion of so many based on ethnicity, we are getting rid of one of the nationalities that makes up our diverse country. The questions you raised are ones I have wondered myself. What does this mean for the future of immigration in this country? Will it stop here or will Donald Trump continue to dispel all non-Americans from this nation?

Motion vs. Progress

Hamdah Salhut

I agree with your claim that Donald Trump’s presidency is arguably the most controversial presidency in history. People believed him to do horrible things during his time as presidency, but many were shocked by how many plans he put into place so quickly after inauguration day. Donald Trump and his ban of followers applaud his many actions as President within his first week. Those of us with more common sense can see that these actions are not progressing our nation. Zakaria was correct in informing Americans to “not confuse motion with progress” in regards to Donald Trumps’ acts as President thus far. I agree with you that Zakaria’s statement speaks volumes about the Donald Trump presidency.

Major Statement: On Empathy’s Existence and Application

Grace DeWitt

I believe empathy is something all human beings are capable of but is an ability that not all put to use. It is a shame that not individuals choose to act on this innate feeling but it explains why there is good and bad in the world. I believe that empathy is essential to the way our world works. If there was no empathy at all, there would be no good in the world. Unfortunately; because so few people practice empathy in this day and age (or so it seems), there is a lack of kindness and goodness in the world. I do not like the approach of Waldman, only because I think he is looking at empathy as a tool for profit. Empathy should be something humans’ practice on one another as a means of creating a more unified and understanding society.

The Toughest Job in Washington

Grace DeWitt

The title of your post is entirely accurate on the scope of just how hard it is to be Press Secretary, especially with our current President. Sean Spicer is in for one hell of a ride through this four-year term, as he attempts to juggle Trump’s outrageous behaviors and the media. Spicer will struggle to save what little is left of Donald Trumps’ good name, as the presidency carries on. Do I wish for this to be the case? No. I do not hope that Sean Spicer has any success in preserving whatever good is in the president’s name. My only hope is that Spicer will ensure the media presents the facts accurately to the public, without distorting the truth. But of course, I would be naïve in thinking this possible.

To Tolerate Organized Racism is to Validate It

Maika Koehl

This post is one of the posts that most caught my eye. I had never heard of the National Democratic Party of Germany before reading your post. It is disgusting to hear of another organization that holds racism dear to its heart. The decision that the party is not a threat I believe is a mistake as well. Voicing racist beliefs in the form of an organized group is dangerous. Racism is very much still alive and I believe it to be one of the greatest, if not the greatest threat to our society today and I believe the NPD to be the same sort of threat for Germany. But how do we stop racism? We cannot take away the first amendment right to freedom of speech, which I do agree with. But, we should be able to shut down an organization that promotes violence and even acts on hateful urges toward people in the community. If Germany allows an organization like this to build and expand and continue to commit heinous acts of discrimination, then years or decades from now there will be a catastrophic event that will make them regret the decision to not act now.

Serving the Environment and Community, One Crayon at a Time

Maika Koehl

I had not heard of the Crayon Collection before reading your post and I am glad I was introduced to the idea. I applaud people like Sheila Morovati who take the initiative to better their community and make a change in the lives of our younger generations. This story is an example of how more people, myself included, should become involved in their communities and the betterment of society. In times such as these, when the world seems like it is falling apart and there is a split down the middle of our country, we must join together in ways that will make a difference. The way they expanded the Crayon Collection into an Arts and Education Program is a great way to bring back the education that people are trying to take away from children. There is significance in art education and the way that they have worked within national standards to provide a fun and hands on curriculum for children will boost creativity in the classroom. Art brings joy and happiness to young children and the way the organization has chosen to expand and promote art is a great contribution to their communities.

The Messiah of New Atheism

Natalie Morgan

I was born in a religious household, but around my elementary school years began to question the existence of God. Since then, I have identified myself as agnostic. Existential thought has always been something of interest to me, so I am glad your post introduced me to such an intellectual thinker. Harris’ analogy of Zeus stuck out to me, because it is the way my mind works as well. I very much agree that because there is no evidence of God, it is not necessary for me to live my life as if one did exist. I agree with Harris on many points, but where we disagree is on our views of religion. I respect religion and those who hold religious beliefs. I believe religion can be a beautiful thing when people focus it in on their own lives and not those of others. When one’s religious views interfere in the life of another human being is when I have an issue. Nevertheless, he is a fascinating intellectual and I now have begun listening to his podcast!

Caring about Truth Means Listening to People We Disagree With

Natalie Morgan

One particular point that stuck out to me was your discussion of unfriending people on Facebook. This was a major issue, especially as the election got more and more intense. During this election, people were angry and emotionally driven. People had more of a tendency to be driven by emotion than rationality. It was disheartening and still is that people do not want to talk about the issues in our country. People should be encouraged to discuss politics in a healthy way, presenting facts and listening to the other side. Too many people were quick to pick a side and rule out everyone on the opposing. What angered me the most was many of those who did choose a side could not explain why. I had many friends, at 20 years of age, still going along with what their parents or their friends think. Many, during this election, did not form an opinion for themselves and perhaps this was one of the greatest contributors to Donald Trump’s victory. Younger generations supported and voted for a man they knew nothing about. Knowledge was lacking in this election and I believe you are right, we do need to encourage engaging conversations in which individuals discuss and listen to political opinions.

It Makes Sense That America Has a Drinking and Driving Problem

Natalie Morgan

I like that you included a new perspective on why drinking and driving is such a prominent issue in our society. To think of it as an intersection of two things ingrained in our culture, as you said, does make it obvious as to how America has a drinking and driving problem. The social stigma surrounding drunk driving is not always negative. This was the case for my highschool. Many of my fellow classmates thought it was acceptable to drive under the influence. Some were convinced they drove better that way or atleast that’s what they said. I am certain the kids in my highschool were not and are not the only teens who have thought drinking and driving was a norm. To fix this issue, we need to get kids to understand the magnitude of the danger they are putting themselves and others in when they drink and drive. You are right, the ultimate goal is to keep the public safe and in order to do so we need to reduce reckless driving.

2017 Spring Break in Mexico

Layana White

Following Trump’s election, it is shocking to see the racism that has been hidden in America for so long. People are finally coming out of the woodworks and are owning up to their xenophobic and discriminatory beliefs. It is sad to see that our citizens have jumped at the chance to voice their racist views because now they have a President who does the same. The fact that there were a large amount of complaints about tourists being “offensive, rude and haughty towards Mexican people” is disheartening. Trump’s presidency and his outrageous comments throughout the election have created a new social norm more accepting of outspoken racist and xenophobic comments. I like the way you end your piece with the comment on Mexico implementing a travel ban on Americans. Wouldn’t that be a slap in the face to Donald Trump.

A Major Statement: Cosmetic Animal Testing as an Obsolete Practice

Amanda Suarez

I was interested in reading your major statement, because animal testing is not something I have much knowledge on. It was shocking to read the statistics you included, especially that 95% of animals tested on are not protected by law. This is a significant issue to acknowledge in animal testing. What was even more shocking was the ineffectiveness of animal testing. A 72% accuracy level for testing on animal skins is not a high enough statistic to put animals through that form of torture. So, I agree with you and the ideas you have researched and proposed for alternative testing, cruelty free testing. If we could switch our research and testing over to human skin, it would save and better the lives of millions of animals. From your post, I can tell you are very dedicated to this issue which made reading the piece very enjoyable. Your last sentence is a great way to finish your post. It is about letting go of unnecessary violence in our world, because we already have so much of it.

Op-Ed: Trumpcare and When the Party Takes Precedent Over the People

Norman

I agree it was quite entertaining when Republicans plan for the new “Trumpcare” fell through. It was a major embarrassment seeing as they have been waiting two terms to repeal Obama Care and replace it with something they believe is more suitable for America. The plan the Republicans proposed would have been a disaster. I, like most liberals, were concerned because of its advantages for the rich, in comparison to the poor. I do share your concern with the modifications, because I also believe it will be just in order to get the bill passed. Only the right wing needs to be in agreement with the bill. The modifications do not need to change the content so as to help lower income Americans. That is the least of the republicans concerns. I like the way you end your op-ed with “Republicans now have a choice between the good of the people and the best interests of the party.” This is true, but I believe their choice will inevitably be the best interest of the party.

Leadership is Overrated

Maika Koehl

Your piece was interesting to read. I had never thought of whether it might be better to promote being a follower in our society, as opposed to a leader. I agree that often people mix up status for leadership. A good example is celebrities. People often look up to these people and follow their suit, because they are famous and wealthy individuals. Being part of the elite does not make one a suitable leader in our society and this is a dangerous assumption people have. The quote you incorporated brought up a good point that schools promote leadership because this is what is sought after in the corporate world. I agree that this should shift. Being a follower does not deserve the negative connotation it is often given. Being a good follower is far better than being a bad leader.

Sexism is still alive and well

Amy Macrae

Sexism is alive and well. The quote by Janusz Korwin-Mikke is, I believe, a common thought many people still have today. Sexism, like racism, has not been solved. It is an ongoing issue, one that has progressed over centuries. However, with the newly elected President Donald Trump, I believe we will be reverting back to our old ways. The quotes you included of comments Trump was said to have made were mind-boggling to me. It was sickening to see the lack of concern Trump voters had for his sexist comments and actions. It is sad to think that that many people in the world can disregard the treatment of women by a man that will run our country. The sense of hope I have lies in the passion of women and women’s advocates today that will continue to fight for equality, even in the face of a presidential term with a sexist pig. It will be interesting to see the battle between the new administration and women’s advocates as the term goes on. I hope for the best.

The Raiders Head to Sin City

Amy Macrae

I had not heard of the Oakland Raiders moving until you presented in class. I thought you brought up many good points as to why this could be a poor choice for the NFL team. The move was shocking, because I agree, it is purely for profit when the game should be all about the viewers. I am sure it was disheartening to Oakland Raiders fans to hear of the move. The move to Las Vegas could potentially serve as a threat to the discipline of the team. You brought up the point in class that Las Vegas is a much more party-oriented atmosphere and this could hurt the team seeing as their players are young and fresh out of college. I do agree with this, but hopefully it will not be the case. I think the coaches may need to be stricter with their team, because being in Las Vegas and not partying would be hard for anyone. I am interested to see what happens with the team in the future and how people will continue to respond to the big move.

Universal Basic Income: Fiction or Future Reality?

Bobby

I share the same concern with the growing gap between the rich and the poor. Our society continues to suffer with this issue and as the gap widens, it will present more issues that need to be solved. It is crazy to think that one day in the near future we could really have a universal basic income. No matter how crazy I think it is, I am aware that this is entirely plausible. I am not sure whether I am for or against this; however, I do know that I am worried about jobs for Americans in the near future. I believe that our generation is so set on progressing in terms of technology and industry that we neglect the human population. If we are to invent and implement all of these new forms of technology in the future, how can we expect humans to serve a role in society. Your blog post really made me think about our future and how dangerous advancements in technology are for the status of our workforce.

GMOs Could Be the Solution to Our Environmental Problems

Bobby

Needless to say I had never heard of the American Chestnut tree before reading your op-ed, which is perhaps why I liked it so much. It is interesting to read about the trees pros in our environment and makes me wonder why I had not heard of it before. I fully support the use of GMOs, especially in this particular case. I believe if we could restore the chestnut tree, then like you said it will greatly benefit our environment. I hope people can see the bright side of using GMOs in this particular case and realize the potential of implementing this tree back into our ecosystems. It makes me wonder if there are other trees or other various things that could be introduced back into our environment to benefit nature? What other things have died out that we would be able to genetically modify back into existence?

The Power Behind the Throne

Lacey

I enjoyed reading your post, particularly your concluding paragraph. I agreed with much of your concern. I believe Trump is not nearly as big of a threat as the men he has elected to office, the worst being Steve Bannon. I believe he is a tyrant that will be easily able to sway all of Trumps decisions during his term. Someone with as strong, disturbing views as Bannon can be a grave threat to our American government and those who do not hold his alt-right views. Giving someone of his nature the power to write executive orders that will be approved by our spineless President is dangerous to Americans and the freedoms of those who fall outside of the alt-right lines of thinking. It will be interesting, yet scary to see what awaits us in the current presidential term. With people like Bannon in power, pray for us.


bottom of page